Frederik's Friday Fact

Home Archive Ratings
Friday 29 Oct 2004: The First FFF
Den Haag having two major railway stations (Centraal Station and Station Hollands Spoor) in stead of one, is a remnant of the days when the Netherlands used to have multiple railway companies, each with their own station. The Hollandsche IJzeren Spoorwegmaatschappij used to operate from Station Hollands Spoor and the Staatsspoorwegen used to operate from Station Staatsspoor, now called Centraal Station. In 1938 the separate companies amalgamated into the Nederlandse Spoorwegen.

Rating: 0 1 2 3 4

Copyright FFF